Ian Bibby wins Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic

Posted on 3 Jan 2017 11:37:24 Posted By Denise Lawson

Ian Bibby wins Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic
On the final stage, Brenton Jones (JLT Condor) sprinted to second behind Caleb Ewan (ORICA-Scott) with Bibby finishing fourth in Williamstown and claiming the series overall.
Billed as one of the fastest criterium series in the world. The Bay Cycling Classic has produced notable big name winners including Tour de France green jersey holder, Robbie McEwen and Australian sprinter Mark Renshaw. The series which takes place across three locations over the New Year weekend, opens the Australian Summer of Cycling and is ideal preparation for riders looking to hone their form ahead of the Australian National Championships on January 6th.
Ian Bibby is the first British winner of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic, and only the second non-Australian to win the men's race. Switzerland's Peter Steiger won the first edition in 1989. The race has been dominated for several years by Australian World Tour squad, ORICA-Scott. Sprinter, Caleb Ewan, who has claimed three titles in the series was unable to over power Bibby in the 2017 edition of the race.
"It's fantastic," said Bibby. "To start the year off like this has been really, really good. I'm really happy. If you told me this would happen last week, I would have laughed."
Bibby assumed a surprise leadership role within his squad when Jones, his team leader, was involved in the crash created by Ewan on day one. Second place in the Portarlington stage solidified Bibby's lead on the yellow jersey.
"This course is the one I was worried about the most," Bibby admitted. "I was a bit nervous and trying not to over-think it too much. I had faith in the lads."
The team now move to Bendigo to begin their training camp in preparation for the New Zealand Cycle Classic UCI 2.2 (January 22-26) and Herald Sun Tour UCI 2.1 (February 1-5).
Overall General Classification
1. Ian Bibby (JLT Condor) - 29 points
2. Matt Gibson (JLT Condor) - 24 points
3. Caleb Ewan (ORICA-Scott) - 18 points
Stage 1 Result - Geelong
1. Ian Bibby (JLT Condor)
2. Jesse Kerrison (IsoWhey Sports-SwissWellness)
3. Matt Gibson (JLT Condor)
Stage 2 Result - Portarlington
1. Michael Hepburn (ORICA-Scott)
2.Ian Bibby (JLT Condor)
3.Matt Gibson (JLT Condor)
Stage 3 Result
1. Caleb Ewan (ORICA-Scott)
2.Brenton Jones (JLT Condor)
3. Matt Gibson (JLT Condor)